Distressing–PBS goes BS?

A post on Science-based Medicine (one of my regular reads; is it over there in my list of frequently visited sources?) concerns me. PBS local stations apparently are running sham science shows. Under the head line “Shame on PBS!,” Dr. Harriet Hall, one of the authors for SBM wrote this:

I used to have a high opinion of PBS. They ran excellent programs like Nova and Masterpiece Theatre and I felt I could count on finding good programming when I tuned into my local PBS channel. No more.

It was bad enough when they started featuring Deepak Chopra, self-help programs, and “create your own reality” New Age philosophy, but at least it was obvious what those programs were about. What is really frightening is that now they are running programs for fringe medical claims and they are allowing viewers to believe that they are hearing cutting edge science.

Yuck. Having not watched TV for most of the past 25 years, I was anticipating (maybe not eagerly, but anticipating) having the opportunity to tune into PBS shows on the fancy new TV we plan to install in the new house. Mayhaps I don’t want to hook up that new TV.

Link to Dr. Hall’s post.

1 Comment

Filed under Memo to me, News, Notes and comments, Science, Skepticism, Thanks for reading

One response to “Distressing–PBS goes BS?

  1. Thank you for the link to a very interesting blog–and as I explored the contributors and their earlier posts, I came across a strong and logical post.
    “How not to think”:http://www.sciencebasedmedicine.org/?p=411
    I suppose you have already read it?

Leave a Reply

