BBall

Being something of a basketball fan, it’s one of the times of the year when I regret not having access to television broadcasts or cable. I see that the Dallas Mavericks defeated the Miami Heat 90-80 in the first game of the NBA finals. From what I’ve read about it, this first game of the finals sounds like a defensive struggle, a type of game that did not take place in the previous series between the Mavs and the Phoenix Suns. The Mavs-Suns games sounded like entertaining basketball; Pat and I saw one of them and it was fun.
This set me to thinking about the marvelous series (pl.) of the 1960s played between the West-Baylor Lakers and the Russell-et-al. Celtics. Though I routinely cheered for the losers (came to dislike parquet floors), those were marvelous examples of basketball.

I’m enjoying reading John Taylor’s The Rivalry: Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, and the Golden Age of Basketball. I’ve only gotten through the first six or so chapters (Russell has just joined the Celtics after helping the US win the ’56 Olympics basketball competition), but I’m hooked. Taylor’s writing is among the best I’ve read in recent books on sports.

Leave a comment

Filed under Amusements, Hoops, Notes and comments, What I'm reading

Leave a Reply

