Training

Because Haile Gebrselassie will run in New York City Half-Marathon on 5 August, Frank Litsky interviewed Mr. Gebrselassie for the New York Times. Given Mr. Gebrselassie’s history in running, I read Mr. Litsky’s article as soon as I saw it. There’s not a lot to the story other than what Mr. Gebrselassie had to say. Here’s a fun quote:

“I have no plan to retire,” he said. “I just keep running, and maybe I’ll do it as long as I can win a race. If I don’t win or don’t do good, then it’s time to stop, but not soon. It’s 9:20 p.m. now and I’m going to bed. I’ll wake up at 5 in the morning and start training again. You can’t beat that.”

Link to the article. See the Wikipedia entry about Mr. Gebrsellassie. There are many video clips on YouTube and Google Video about Mr. Gebrselassie. The following one has the fantastic finish of the 10K at the Sydny Olympics.

1 Comment

Filed under Running

One response to “Training

  1. Over on Flashes of Panaic, Parker has a reference, and in his entry he also refers to a couple of nifty photos of Mr. Gebrselassie.

Leave a Reply

