Praying for what?

Governor Perdue Encourages Water Conservation

Georgia (US) Governor Sonny Perdue has taken many steps to address the shortage of water in the geographic area that he was elected to govern, but the one that has caught the attention of lots of folks is his invocation of God to break the draught. Yep, Governor Perdue held a public relations event to pray for rain. The image at the right is linked to an MP3 of the session.

I admire some of the governor’s policies. For example, he has given administrative orders to conserve water to agencies for which he has oversight. But, praying for rain…?

Actually, if Gov. Perdue and his constituents who participated in the praying will simply stay in the same place and keep praying long enough, it’s going to work.

I’m old enough to remember some of the egregious misbehavior by governors from Georgia and nearby states in response to civil rights and other public facilities. Ultimately, the people of Georgia stopped electing people like Lester Maddux. I wonder if states will ever stop electing people who seriously promote praying for rain. Sigh.

Link to Gov. Perdue’s water conservation Web site. Link to a Google news search on the topic.

2 Comments

Filed under Amusements, Atheism, Civil rights, News, Notes and comments, Politics, Science, Skepticism

2 responses to “Praying for what?

  1. I heard a story about this on NPR this morning. I think I had two seperate reactions. First of all, I don’t like leaders mingling state and religion. I think it could be totally appropriate to ask for prayers for rain, however it definitely seemed to be just another bit of evangelical Christian flag waving. If he’d invited other faiths, then the event would have carried a more powerful message.

    Now that’s not to say that I think any deity actually changes their plans for the universe based upon the requests of the people of Georgia… I think the real point of prayer is that it should change us and our relationship to the world. It is then by being changed ourselves that we change the world. In this case, I was very glad that the prayers involved awareness of water conservation. One participant remarked that they asked god for forgiveness for not being good stewards of water resources.

  2. Lonnie, thanks for taking the time to drop a comment. I agree that it was nice the public meeting addressed conservation and other actions that are more likely to affect the supply of water in Georgia and its surrounds. I like your line about it being unlikely any deity would change plans because of the prayers of a few, were there to be a deity.

    I also agree with your reservations about mixing religion and government. In fact, I think that was a critical element in the arguments of the people whom we revere as the progenitors of the USA: Keep ’em separate.

    Although I generally resist the smash-face atheism that seems to have been popular recently, I couldn’t resist commenting on this instance of folly. I hope readers understand that I consider people in Georgia or elsewhere to have every right to pray for rain…on their own time and their own nickel.

Leave a Reply

