Julian Bond

I have the great privilege of serving on the same faculty as Julian Bond. I remember when his election to a representative body and his willingness to tolerate abuse pushed him into the public eye. I thought of him then as someone who would obtain his education and then, like most of us, disappear into society. He didn’t. He stood up again and again. He still stands up for lots of what should be right about the US. He comes from a family that clearly valued education and promoted peace.

My hat’s off to him on this day, his birthday, and (even though he’s supposed to have retired this past spring) on any day when I happen to see him on the grounds of Mr. Jefferson’s Academical Village. I’m honored to number him among my colleagues.

More:

Leave a comment

Filed under Birthdays, Civil rights, Non-violence, Peace

Leave a Reply

