Recycle t-shirts

Because I have dozens of extras, I was searching for info on recycling t-shirts. I remember that Miz MooMoo Mizou made a quilt of many of her shirts and displayed it at the Dead Runners Society World Conference II, but I’m not about to do that. However, for those who might want to do so, I see that Jane Perrone has a link for making a quilt among her good suggestions about recycling t-shirts. Ms. Perrone refers to a UK charity that’s collecting t-shirts, and I’m glad to see that something’s being done by Oxfam and a store in GB. Also, Amber Seber has “10 Great Ways to Recycle Your Old T-Shirts.” Meanwhile, I really like the business the Re-Stitch folks are conducting. Hip-hip for Cool Tshirts Org in the UK for it’s recommendations about recycling. Hooray for Common Threads Garment Recycling by Patagonia. Cara Johnson of This Recycled Life has a fun application (and a great picture) at “Recycling T-shirts – New Hat.” I especially like the recommendation on Tree Hugger about turning t-shirts into underwear, which is also one of the projects listed in Kate Pullen’s “5 Sewing Projects Using T-Shirts: Recycle and Repurpose to Make a Baby Dress, Pants and Even Underwear” on Suit 101. In my wanderings, I found that Eko Noiz has a nifty t-shirt with the slogan “Recycle or Die” on it…but that’s getting another shirt, not riding myself of shirts. Sigh.

Do you know of other nifty sites for t-shirt recycling? If so, please drop a link to them in the comments.

4 Comments

Filed under Amusements, Eco-stuff, News

4 responses to “Recycle t-shirts

  1. sandra

    Shoot–I was looking for a site to drop off a bunch of old white cotton t shirts for recycling–but no sites listed. I only need so many dust rags! And I’m not going to start sewing underwear. But isn’t someone doing something with white t shirts in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area of Minnesota?

  2. Love how recycling is spreading into every area of our waste. Great news!

  3. Pingback: Recycling tshirts | Goldplatinumsi

  4. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess
    I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for newbie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

