Help with a quote

I’m hoping a literate (or even an illiterate) person somewhere can tell me who said something like this:

We need more talk about poems and less talk about poets and poetry.

I may not have the quote exactly right, but that’s the sense of it. I’ve searched extensively, but unsuccessfully. I remember that Henri Coulette mentioned the idea in class one night. In my fuzzy memory, I thought W. D. Snodgrass (or “S. S. Gardons”) might have said it, but I am not sure.

2 Comments

Filed under Memo to me, Words

2 responses to “Help with a quote

  1. Kathy Snodgrass

    I kind of doubt that De said that. For one thing he seldom stated “We need…” about anything except when we were out of chocolate.

    • Hey, thanks for the comment. Nice to have you visiting these pages. I like the bit about chocolate.

      The “we need” part of the quote (such as it is) is likely part of my phrasing. It was the idea that discussion about too often strays from the poems themselves to the people and the esoteric. The phrasing could well have been something more like this: “People would benefit from more talk about poems and less about poets and poetry.”

      Once I find the source for the idea, then I hope to find the actual quotation….

Leave a Reply

