iPhoto facial recognition and a buddha

buddha with blank iPhoto name
Name that Buddha

I was humored this morning when I was using the facial recognition feature of iPhoto. As I paged through images from our recent visit to Kaohsiung in Taiwan, adding names to some of the faces, I happened upon the image show here. Sure as shooting, iPhoto identified the deity as unnamed. The software gave me the opportunity to name some other buddhas from the same series of photos.

I ‘spose it’s a tribute to the artist that the face has enough human features to be recognized as a face. I see that the feature works on cats. There’s even more oddities on the Flickr group devoted to examples of non-faces being recognized.

Leave a comment

Filed under Amusements, Technology

Leave a Reply

