I reverse a position on religion and politics

I read with interest Damon Linker’s column in the Washington Post on Sunday 19 September 2010, “A religious test all our political candidates should take.” Given my resistence to mixing political and religious views, my first reaction when I read the headline was to disagree. After all, I know quite well that Article VI of the US Constitution very plainly states that “no religious test shall ever be required as a qualification [for] any office or public trust under the United States.”

However, as I read his column, Mr. Linker clearly convinced me that it would be in my country’s interest to ask candidates for office about not only whether but actually how they can separate their religious views from their secular duties. After I read Mr. Linker’s column, you see, I came to see that we actually do not need leaders who are guided by their religious views. It’s O.K. for folks to have personal religious views. We need leaders who can set aside their religious views and make decisions of state on secular bases.

Link to Mr. Linker’s column, A religious test all our political candidates should take.

1 Comment

Filed under Atheism, News, Notes and comments, Politics, Thanks for reading, What I'm reading

One response to “I reverse a position on religion and politics

  1. I certainly agree that knowing our government officials are able to reasonably (ah, what does that word mean?) separate their religious beliefs, whatever they may be, from their political, administrative and governing actions. Likewise, agnostics and atheists must be able to tolerate those with religious affiliations. What have we come to that we must test people on such matters?

Leave a Reply

